The fourth edition of the leading text, Australian Telecommunications Regulation, was launched at Corrs Sydney office on Thursday 15 December.

The launch event was hosted by the text’s publishers, CCH and was attended by over 100 telecommunications industry leaders. The key note address was delivered by ACCC Chairman, Rod Sims; and there were also presentations from Australian Communications and Consumer Action Network Chairman, Professor Michael Fraser, and the book’s editors, David Howarth (Corrs alumnus) and Alasdair Grant.

Corrs Competition and Regulatory partner Thomas Jones welcomed guests and noted the impeccable timing of the book launch at a pivotal moment in the Australian telecommunications industry, “We are all witnessing a watershed moment in the history of Australian telecommunications regulation.”

“It is a very exciting time to be part of the telecommunications industry. The revised Structural Separation Undertaking lodged by Telstra, the lodging of the Special Access Undertaking by NBN Co, the prospect of the DAs between Telstra and NBN Co coming into effect, the establishment of TUSMA and of course the rollout of the NBN itself are key defining moments in the regulatory landscape”.

Corrs was delighted to co-host the event and congratulates publishers CCH and the authors on the launch of this important text.

About Australian Telecommunications Regulation

Australian Telecommunications Regulation is used extensively by lawyers, public officials, industry practitioners and students This fully revised 4th edition incorporates all recent legislative reforms, regulatory decisions and policy initiatives. It covers all key aspects of telecommunications regulation, including the policy context, industry and institutional structures, the Part XIB and XIC competition regimes, regulatory economics, network technologies, spectrum management, and consumer and community issues.

This latest edition is edited by experienced insiders Alasdair Grant and David Howarth, and co-authored by respected experts including economists Joshua Gans, Stephen King and Richard Hayes, Ofcom’s Head of Competition Policy David Stewart, telecommunications engineering experts Paul Brooks and Narelle Clark, policy advocates Holly Raiche and international telecommunications lawyers Emanuela Lecchi, Mark Toner, Jordan Cox and Karen Lee.

ACCC Chairman, Rod Sims

Editors and Authors of Australian Telecommunications Regulation

Corrs Competition & Regulatory Partner, Thomas Jones

The content of this publication is for reference purposes only. It is current at the date of publication. This content does not constitute legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Legal advice about your specific circumstances should always be obtained before taking any action based on this publication.