Australia’s leading independent law firm, Corrs Chambers Westgarth, has today been named as a finalist in seven categories in the 2016 Lawyers Weekly Women in Law Awards.

Corrs was named as a finalist in the coveted ‘Diversity Law Firm of the Year’ category, which the firm also took home in 2015. The award recognises a commitment to diversity through employment policies, flexible work arrangements and the promotion of an inclusive workplace culture.

Corrs women were also named as finalists in the following categories:

• Dealmaker of the Year: Sandy Mak, Partner

• Mentor of the Year: Kate Hay, Partner

• Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year: Anna Ross, Partner

• Senior Associate of the Year: Haley Aprile, Senior Associate

• Law Student of the Year: Sian Lacy, Law Graduate

• Marketing Communications Executive of the Year: Sarah Chisman-Duffy, Head of Client Engagement

• Marketing Communications Executive of the Year: Renee Bennie, Head of Client Development

Corrs Partner and CEO, John W.H. Denton AO, said: “Diversity, inclusiveness and flexibility are ethical issues and key business drivers for all businesses, and they are a critical aspect of Corrs’ strategy. Supporting and promoting our female legal professionals brings significant benefits to our firm, our people and our clients, and we are very proud to be a leader in this area. I’m delighted that so many of our talented females have been named as finalists in these awards and congratulate them on their well-earned recognition.”

Corrs Partner and Diversity Council Chair, Annette Hughes, added: “It is an honour to work alongside such an amazing group of capable and inspiring women who are committed to delivering the very best results. As a firm, we have made a significant investment in integrating diversity and inclusiveness in everything we do. Our commitment to diversity is recognised, embraced and celebrated and it is because of this that we are able to attract and retain the very best female legal professionals.”

Winners of the Lawyers Weekly Women in Law Awards will be announced on 27 October, 2016.

The content of this publication is for reference purposes only. It is current at the date of publication. This content does not constitute legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Legal advice about your specific circumstances should always be obtained before taking any action based on this publication.