Home Insights The Trans-Pacific Partnership: 2018 update

The Trans-Pacific Partnership: 2018 update

On 8 March 2018, shortly after this chapter was written, the CPTPP was signed in Santiago.

Following the United States presidential election in November 2016 and President Donald Trump’s decision not to participate in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), representatives of the remaining 11 states (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam) convened with the intention of bringing the TPP into force, albeit in an amended form.

Those 11 states, reportedly led by Japan, Australia and New Zealand, sought publicly to reaffirm the strategic and economic significance of the TPP.

You can access the full text of this original chapter by clicking the 'Download' button above.

This article was originally published in The Investment Treaty Arbitration Review Third Edition, and has been reproduced with permission from Law Business Research Ltd. For further information please visit: http://thelawreviews.co.uk/


Andrew Stephenson

Head of Projects

Lee Carroll

Special Counsel



The content of this publication is for reference purposes only. It is current at the date of publication. This content does not constitute legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Legal advice about your specific circumstances should always be obtained before taking any action based on this publication.

  • Download PDF file
  • Print article

Key Contact

Other Contact

Related Capabilities